High Court

The High Court is divided into three ‘Divisions’:

  1. Queen's Bench
  2. Chancery
  3. Family Courts

Most of these deal with Civil Law only, however a small section of the Queen's Bench (administrative section) can occasionally hear Criminal appeals from the lower courts on some matters but these tend to skip to the Court of Appeal.

Many High Court judges will also sit in the Crown Court. It can be the court of first instance for very serious cases. There is occasionally a Jury in serious defamation or Police cases but otherwise it is a rarity. High Court judges are often referred to at M’Lud (My Lord) and are knighted upon attaining their position.

sign up to revision world banner