Il y a quatre saisons. - There are four seasons.

  • le printemps - the spring
  • l’été - the summer
  • l’automne - the autumn
  • l’hiver - the winter

Can you see that three of the seasons have the article l’ rather than le or la? That’s because they start with a vowel (h is silent in French so the first sound is a vowel). They are all masculine nouns.

To say ‘in summer, winter, autumn’, you take off the article (le/la/l’) and add en.

  • en été - in summer
  • en automne - in autumn
  • en hiver - in winter

BUT you say AU printemps.

  • au printemps - in spring

ULAW Banner
Register Now